SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting Drifters Event Center – Ft. Pierre, SD Friday June 2, 2023

President Renemans called the meeting to order at 12:26pm Central.

Board Members Present: Dr. Nick Renemans, Dr. Harold Doerr, Dr. Tara Schaack, and Zona Hornstra.

Board Staff Present: Shelly Munson, Nolan Welker, Brittany Novotny and Lisa Harsma.

Others Present: Paul Knecht, Tasha Wendel, Hailey Bruggeman, and Mike Mueller.

Renemans called for public testimony during the open forum. There was no public testimony.

Motion to approve the minutes by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to move approve the agenda by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial report by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Tasha Wendel presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Hygienists' Association.

Paul Knecht presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Association, the Dental Wellness Program, and the Oral Health Coalition.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried. The Board went into Executive Session at 1:12pm.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Schaack. Second by Doerr. Motion carried. The board moved out of Executive Session at 2:20pm.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Mark Longly Hall, Harvey Lester, and Stone Rangarajan Thayer by Schaack. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification applications of Lyndsey Lee Bailey, Robert Benitez, Jodi Marie Bosch, Jaclyn Jeannette Bretschneider, Josie Rae Cannon, Nichole Marie Kemp, Jaylene Ann Schmidt, Gwen Ann Sova and Rebecca Jo Staples by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist applications of Zachary Ryan Berg, Rachel Catherine Clark, Sydney Marie Ebben, Erin Lynn Fuerst, Jarrett Landon Jensen, Allie Jean Koth, Julianne Rose Loewen, Michael Joseph Regan, Shayan Shekari, Alaina Marie Stiles, Nitish Tewari, Allison Anne VanLaecken-Heggelund, and Karisa Rose Vogt by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist applications of Elizabeth Pearl Andresen, Karsen Rae Arbogast, Hannah Jo Auen, Izabell Kristea Bartels, Katie Lynn Beiningen, Andrea Culpepper, Molly

Elizabeth Faris, Terri Leanne Fisher, Morgan Ashley Hansen, Madyson Lyn Herman, Shawntel Marie Hohn, Lindsey R. Holmquest, Bayleigh Hazel-Renee Holter, Anika Kristine Jensen, Laura Ann Kalous, Janae Dell Kolden, Maria Carmela Krall, Allison Rose Leonard, Alexis Marie MaComb, Whitney Miranda McBride, Eulalia Catalina Pablo Sebastian, MaKay Kathleen Paszek, Heidi Laurel Renken, Danielle Rose Schmidt, Samantha Kay Schuyler, Laura Grace Slack, Hanah Elise Smith, Mason Lane Tieszen, Tessa Anne Trouchon and Braxton Han Trowbridge by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist military application of Kimber Faith Alexander by Hornstra. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion, per SDCL 36-6A-25, to authorize reinstatement of a license, which does not include any clinical or non-clinical practice privileges but will continue jurisdiction for the purpose of resolving pending investigations, for the licensee under investigation in complaints 22.2122 and 25.2122, if the individual's license suspends because of a failure to renew by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion, per SDCL 36-6A-25, to authorize reinstatement of a license, which does not include any clinical or non-clinical practice privileges but will continue jurisdiction for the purpose of resolving pending investigations, for any licensee under investigation when his or her license suspends because of a failure to renew by Hornstra. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed the Advisory Opinions. Motion to rescind the January 2016 Advisory Opinion regarding Education and the January 2019 Advisory Opinion regarding General Community Education by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Board Courses, as presented, by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Board Policies, as presented, by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Continuing Education Guidelines, as presented, by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the anesthesia inspection process, as presented, by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to appoint Dr. Brian Richman to the General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation permit holder position and Dr. Mike Smith to the Moderate Sedation permit holder position on the Anesthesia Credentials Committee by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Doerr nominated Dr. Nick Renemans for the position of President, Dr. Scott Van Dam for the position of Vice President and Zona Hornstra for the position of Secretary/Treasurer. Motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dr. Nick Renemans as President, Dr. Scott Van Dam as Vice President and Zona Hornstra as Secretary/Treasurer by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve annual memberships in the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) and the American Association of Dental Administrators (AADA) and to approve travel for two representatives to attend two meetings associated with each organization by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

The Board announced meeting dates of October 20, 2023, February 9, 2024 and June 14, 2024.

Motion to adjourn by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.
There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:49 pm.
Zona Hornstra, Secretary