SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting Richard F. Kneip Building - Pierre, SD Friday June 18, 2021 10:00am Central

President Doerr called the meeting to order at 10:02am Central.

Board Members Present: Dr. Harold Doerr, Dr. Nick Renemans, Dr. Tara Schaack, Dr. Scott Van Dam, Dr. Brian Prouty, and Zona Hornstra.

Board Members Present via Telephone: Molly Fulton

Board Staff Present: Megan Borchert, Justin Williams, Matthew Templar, Brittany Novotny and Lisa Harsma.

Others Present: Paul Knecht, Dr. Murray Thompson and Dr. Bruce Wintle

Others Present via Telephone: Robert Griggs, Fenecia Foster, Kevin Haiar, Terri Schlunsen, Nicole Pahl, Ann Schwartz, Kathleen Marcus, Jarom Heaton, Chanin Hartnett, Joel Weaver, Kevin Croft, and Amanda McKnelly.

Doerr called for public testimony during the open forum. Dr. Jarom Heaton gave public testimony in opposition to the draft anesthesia administrative rules. Dr. Kevin Croft gave public testimony in opposition to the draft anesthesia administrative rules and process. Paul Knecht gave public testimony in support of the draft anesthesia administrative rules and process.

Motion to approve the minutes by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to move approve the agenda by Renemans. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial report by Hornstra. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried. The board went into Executive Session at 10:43am.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Renemans. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried. The board moved out of Executive Session at 2:21pm.

Motion to approve the non-disciplinary medical related order for Dr. Tim Kappenman by Schaack. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve a one-year CPR extension for Amy Tejral by Hornstra. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to accept the 1997 Nevada state examination and each of the 1986 -1994 California state examinations as equivalent to a dental clinical competency examination per SDCL 36-6A-47 by Van Dam. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Philip Traugott Buckler, Todd T. Cochran, Peyton David Cometti, Leighton Roger Holley, Eugene Fredrick Ingles, Richard Fleming Martin, Jeffrey Allan Meckfessel and Mark Andrew Schlothauer by Renemans. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification applications of Diane L Droze and Megan Ann Wilt by Renemans. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist applications of Cameron Mathias Aitken, Sarah Jean Chinnery, Garret Allen Fraser, Zachary Steven Goettsche, Brian Lee Hettinger, Trey Alexander-Sterk Sauvage, Annemarie Jean Becker, Kirby John Fuerst, Tyler Joseph Juhlin, Alex Madov, Andrew Dale Schuiteman and Shayna Marie Vercruysse by Schaack. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist applications of Traci Evelyn Arbach, Bailey Jo Bice, Brooke Christine Bruinsma, Emily Doris Eining, Ashley Lynn Esselink, Chandler Lynn Fredrich, Jaida Marie Gortmaker, Carlie Josephine Hanson, Mallory Irene Hatzell, Emily Jo Hohenberger, Carson Sierra Holwell, Madison Marie Johnson, Kadra Kristine Kayser, Makena Marie Masuen, Carissa Morgan McMahon, Sierra Cheyenne Peterson, Kelsey Rose Phelps, Nicole Ann Reuland, Brittany Ruth Schafer, Hailie Rose Schock, Qui nn Marie Schroeder, Bridgett Caroline Schumacher, Jordana LaNae Shuck, Miranda Lynn Trujillo, Jessica Darlene Van Keulen, and Mateya Rochele Walder by Renemans. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Doerr noted for informational purposes that a final draft of the Whitepaper on the Effective Management of Acute Pain has been released and thanked the organizations involved in the creation of that document.

Fenecia Foster and Robert Griggs with the Southeast Technical College Dental Assisting Program provided an update on the CODA accreditation application of the Dental Assisting Program. Motion to extend the provisional approval of the Southeast Technical College Dental Assisting Program pursuant to ARSD 20:43:08:05 until October 31, 2022 by Hornstra. Second by Renemans Motion carried.

Chanin Hartnett with the Western Dakota Tech Dental Assisting Program provided an update on the CODA accreditation application of the Dental Assisting Program.

The Board reviewed the changes outlined in draft ARSD 20:43:09, along with the process utilized to solicit, review, and incorporate changes to address stakeholder feedback. Motion to initiate the rule promulgation process for ARSD 20:43:09 by Van Dam. Second by Renemans. Motion carried. Doerr noted that information on the anesthesia administrative rule project can be found on the Board's website and emphasized that although opportunities for stakeholders to provide feedback had occurred the last several months and changes had been incorporated into the draft to address stakeholder feedback, the rule promulgation process will include an additional opportunity for public comment on the draft rules. Doerr encouraged those interested in the project to participate in that process.

Paul Knecht with the SDDA presented a proposal to initiate a wellness program for dental professionals statewide, noting the program would be available to all licensees and registrants of the Board. Motion to approve a contract with the SDDA for \$9,000 to help fund the wellness program for dental professionals statewide by Van Dam. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Amanda McKnelly presented an update on the Health Professionals Assistance Program.

Motion to authorize utilization of video conferencing technology to conduct inspections for a temporary permit, if a full inspection has been conducted in that facility within the prior five years, by Schaack. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Approved Courses Policy, as presented, by Renemans. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Board Policies, as presented, by Hornstra. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Continuing Education Guidelines, as amended, by Renemans. Second by Hornstra, Motion carried.

Schaack nominated Dr. Harold Doerr for the position of President, Dr. Nick Renemans for the position of Vice President and Zona Hornstra for the position of Secretary/Treasurer. Motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dr. Harold Doerr as President, Dr. Nick Renemans as Vice President and Zona Hornstra as Secretary/Treasurer by Schaack. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

Motion to approve annual memberships in the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) and the American Association of Dental Administrators (AADA) by Hornstra. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approval travel for two representatives to attend the AADB meetings and one representative to attend the AADA meetings by Hornstra. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

The Board announced meeting dates of October 22, 2021, January 14, 2022 and June 24, 2022 and that it would be returning to a standard meeting format for future meetings.

Motion to adjourn by Renemans. Second by Van Dam. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:10 pm.

Zona Hornstra, Secretary