SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting SD Housing Development Authority Conference Room Friday, January 13, 2017 10:00am

President Dr. Roy Seaverson called the meeting to order at 10:10 am Central.

Present were: Dr. Roy Seaverson, Dr. Tara Schaack, Dr. Harold Doerr, Dr. Nick Renemans, Zona Hornstra, Tina Van Camp, Matthew Templar, Kris O'Connell, Brittany Novotny, and Lisa Harsma.

Guests included: Dr. Roger Wilson, Amanda McKnelly, Dr. Hilary Jarman, Dr. Grant Titze, Dr. Jason Aanenson, Dr. Bruce Wintle, Dr. Chester Layne and Paul Knecht.

Paul Knecht and Dr. Bruce Wintle addressed the board during open forum.

The Board reviewed the minutes from the September 30, 2016 meeting. Motion to approve the minutes of September 30, 2016 by Hornstra. Second by Van Camp. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agenda as presented by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial statements by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2(3) and 1-25-2(4) by Hornstra. Second by Van Camp. Motion carried. The board went into Executive Session at 10:22 am.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried. The board moved out of Executive Session at 12:01 pm.

4.1617 motion to mandate to South Dakota Health Professionals Assistance Program (HPAP) for Rule out Risk assessment with any terms or conditions to be set by HPAP by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to allow Dr. Hillary Jarman to return to practice with mandated continued participation in HPAP by Schaack. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to amend the FY 17 investigator contracts for Dr. Orin Ellwein and Dr. Randy Sachau to include reimbursement up to \$4,000 to cover the insurance required by the terms of the contract by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the FY 18 contracts, as presented, by Van Camp. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the advisory opinion regarding continued competency per ARSD 20:43:09:08 by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

The Board agreed by consensus to have Dr. Tara Schaack attend the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) spring meeting in Chicago on April 23-24, 2017 as the Board Representative.

Motion to appoint Dr. Nick Renemans to serve as the board member that approves continuing education requests by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried. The Board noted that Dr. Hattervig will continue in this role as well during a transition period.

Formal appearance of Dr. Chester Layne regarding application for licensure.

Motion to approve the South Dakota Dental Association (SDDA) and South Dakota Dental Hygiene Association (SDDHA) \$7,500 honorarium for Dr. Michael Fling to conduct a session during the 2017 Annual Session by Van Camp. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Motion by Doerr to approve the policy that an applicant for a permit to administer Moderate Sedation or General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation that is not licensed and providing Moderate Sedation or General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation in a different state will be allowed up to twelve months between completion of education and date of application. If an applicant has more than twelve months between completion of education and date of application, the applicant will be required to successfully complete a new board approved course or program and meet all other permit requirements before a permit will be issued. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve Dr. Charles Scanlon, Dr. Joshua Nehring, Dr. Mark Lavin, and Dr. Pat Anderson as moderate sedation anesthesia inspectors and Dr. Louis George as a general anesthesia and deep sedation anesthesia inspector by Schaack. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

Novotny discussed SB 47 and the 2017 Legislative Session. Motion to move forward with updates to ARSD 20:43:06 by Hornstra. Second by Van Camp. Motion carried.

The Board discussed silver diamine fluoride and recent scope of practice requests.

The Board discussed the supervision level required for a dental hygienist or a radiographer to take radiographs. Motion to clarify that taking radiographs is considered a preventative and therapeutic service that a dental hygienist can provide under general supervision per SDCL 36-6A-40 and for O'Connell to draft an advisory opinion to that effect by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried.

The Board discussed collaborative supervision practice models and recent scope of practice requests.

The board set the meeting date of January 12, 2018.

Motion to deny the application for a moderate sedation permit of Dr. Jeffrey Loftus by Schaack. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the application to administer nitrous oxide for Dr. Elden Rice by Doerr. Second Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Amine Bellil, David Barclay Dowling, Joe Drake, Nathan Phillips, Michael Thomas Wheatley and Brian M. Woodhull by Schaack. Second by Van Camp. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification applications of Wendy Anderson, Randa Poel, and Shari Lee Tureaud by Hornstra. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist applications of Christopher Knodel, Brittany Jean Miller, Julio Cesar Saldivar, Megan Starr, Libby Kay Thorne, and Cassandra Lynn Witte by Hornstra. Second by Van Camp. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the corporation applications of Dan Graves Dental, LLC, Family Dental Care, LLP, Fettig and Drake DDS, PC, Farley Family Dentistry, Prof. LLC, Jason J. Grebner Dental Services Inc., Patterson Family Dental, Prof, L.L.C., Thomas Kaiser Dental Service Incorporated, Valentine Dental Clinic, LLC, and Wermerson Orthodontics, Prof. LLC by Doerr. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the collaborative supervision applications of Chelsea Johnson and Elizabeth Young as presented by Hornstra. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the collaborative supervision application of Amy Ericks contingent on removal of administration of silver diamine fluoride, scaling and root planing by Hornstra. Second by Doerr.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist reinstatement application of Mary Kjerstad contingent on receipt of a clinical skills evaluation indicating competency from a CODA Accredited dental hygiene or dental school by Hornstra. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the application of Dr. Chester Layne contingent on enrollment in the South Dakota Health Professionals Assistance Program (HPAP) by Doerr. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

The Board announced the following meeting dates: June 16, 2017, October 20, 2017, and January 12, 2018.

Motion to adjourn by Doerr. Second by Hornstra. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 pm.

Tina Van Camp, Secretary