SD State Board of Dentistry Regular Meeting Delta Dental Shared Conference Room Friday October 22, 2010 10:00 a.m.

President Sachau called the meeting to order at 12:35 pm CST.

Present: Dr. G. Randy Sachau, Dr. Geoffrey Johnson, Audrey Ticknor, Dr. Robin Hattervig, Dr. Roy Seaverson, Dr. Roger Wilson, Tina Van Camp, Brittany Novotny and Seanna Regynski. Guests included Paul Knecht, Raye Brown, and Dr. Ed Lynch.

President Sachau noted the delay in convening the meeting due to the public hearing on the proposed sedation and advertising rules taking longer than scheduled.

President Sachau approved the agenda as written.

The Board conducted an interview with Dr. Donald E. Leonard for the investigator position. Motion to defer action until the next meeting by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the minutes of the June 11, 2010 meeting and July 13, 2010 teleconference by Wilson. Second by Hattervig. Motion carried.

The Board interviewed candidates for licensure by credential verification. Dental hygienist credential applicants were: LaTricia Kelly, Marcia Schmidt and Marla Herman.

Motion to approve the corporate applications of Richard Mounce DDS, Endodontic, P.C., Michael R. Juba, DDS, Inc., Larsen & Ehlers Dental, Prof. LLC, Dane Steffen D.D.S Prof. LLC, Nelson Dental Clinic, P.C., Jackson Dental, Prof. L.L.C., Christopher J. Jackson, DMD, P.C., and Jeffery Wiswall DDS MS, P.C. by Wilson. Second by Seaverson. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the regular dental hygienist applications of Amber Addison, Amy Ericks, Ashley Ewals, LaTricia Kelly, Laura Kurth, Codi Lesnar, Cayla Morrison, Brooke Neilson, Sheila Nigg, Jennifer Nordly, Anny Nybo, Melissa Schnell, Sarah Schulte, Tara Severance, Rondine Shaffer, Mindie Soelzer, Katelyn Starks, Lynnea Style, Tara Van Meter, Erika Whalen, Chelsea Wolf, and Elizabeth Young.

Motion to approve the regular dentist applications of McKenzy Boyd, Jared Boyd, Jennifer Gotch, Clark Hunstad, Bridget Lervick, Evan Nelson, Katherine Reardon, Jacquelyn Schieck, Stephanie Schmidtz, Kelsey Sharpe, and Megan Telste by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the regular dentist application of Zachary Kopf pending receipt of his verification letter by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the credential dental hygienist applications of Marcia Schmidt and Marla Herman by Seaverson. Second by Hattervig. Motion carried.

Novotny presented the financial statements. Motion to approve the financial statements by Wilson. Second by Hattervig. Motion carried.

Novotny gave an office update.

The Board discussed applications for dental hygiene Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) Examiners. Motion to appoint Jennifer Heiman, Suzanne Luken and Zona Hornstra as dental hygiene CRDTS Examiners by Ticknor. Second by Seaverson. Motion carried.

The Board undertook a discussion on Public Health Supervision.

Motion to approve the following programs by Hattervig. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Dental Hygienist Administer Nitrous Oxide: 20:43:04:06: Nitrous Oxide Courses taught at American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (ADA CODA) accredited dental hygiene programs.

Dental Hygienist Administer Local Anesthesia: 20:43:04:06: Local Anesthesia Courses taught at ADA CODA accredited dental hygiene programs.

Advanced Dental Assistants (ADA): 20:43:08:03 (1): Western Dakota Technical Institute (WDTI) and South East Technical Institute (SETI) Advanced Dental Assisting programs (non-accredited); ADA CODA accredited Advanced Dental Assisting programs; Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) Certification; Lake Area Technical Institute (LATI) Expanded Functions Dental Assistant Course (refresher course).

Advanced Dental Assistants Administer Nitrous Oxide: 20:43:09:06(2): Nitrous Oxide courses taken at ADA CODA accredited Dental Hygiene and Advanced Dental Assisting programs.

Radiographers: 20:43:07:03: Radiography courses taken at ADA CODA accredited Dental Hygiene and Advanced Dental Assisting programs and the Radiography component of the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB).

The Board reviewed a request by the South Dakota Dental Association (SDDA) to provide a \$5,400 grant to sponsor the program "Treatment of Snoring & Obstructive Sleep Apnea in the Dental Practice" by Dr. Parker. This program will be presented at the SDDA 2011 Annual Meeting and will open to all licensees free of charge. Motion to approve a \$5,400 grant to sponsor Dr. Parker by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion to sponsor a board approved program at the 2011 SDDA Annual Meeting that would satisfy the course requirements of proposed ARSD 20:43:09:10 – Permit requirements for monitoring patients under general anesthesia and deep sedation or moderate sedation by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Board convened in executive session at 4:28pm. Board came out of executive session at 4:41pm.

Motion to approve the Agreed Disposition and Waiver of Hearing in case number 4.0809 and 13.0910 against Dr. John Wightman, DDS by Wilson. Second by Johnson. Motion carried.

Board discussed future meeting dates. Future board meeting dates will include January 7, 2011, June 17, 2011 and October 14, 2011.

There being no other business, there was a motion to adjourn by Wilson. Second by Ticknor. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 4:50pm.

Audrey Ticknor, Secretary