## SD State Board of Dentistry Board Meeting Drifters Event Center – Ft. Pierre, SD Friday May 30, 2025

President Van Dam called the meeting to order at 10:22 am Central.

Board Members Present: Dr. Scott Van Dam, Dr. Brian Prouty, Dr. Nick Renemans, Dr. Harold Doerr, Dr. Jon Schaack, Amy Perry and Ashley Flynn.

Board Staff Present: Brittany Novotny and Lisa Harsma.

Board Staff Present via Video/Audio Conferencing: Megan Borchert (General Counsel), Shelly Munson (Prosecutor), and Dr. Orin Ellwein (Investigator).

Presenters attending via Video/Audio Conferencing: Katie Pudwill (SDDHA).

Others Present: Paul Knecht (SDDA).

Van Dam called for public testimony during the open forum. There was no public testimony.

Motion to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2025 board meeting by Perry. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to move approve the agenda by Doerr. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the financial report by Perry. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Novotny provided an office update.

Katie Pudwill presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Hygienists' Association.

Paul Knecht presented an update on the South Dakota Dental Association, the Dental Wellness Program, and the Oral Health Coalition.

Motion to move into Executive Session pursuant to SDCL 1-25-2 (3) by Renemans. Second by Perry. Motion carried. The Board went into Executive Session at 10:53am.

Motion to move out of Executive Session by Perry. Second by Doerr. Motion carried. The board moved out of Executive Session at 1:24pm.

Motion to approve the dentist credential verification applications of Thomas Richard Gunnell, Ashley Nicole Huber, Shayna Beth Lichten, Armani Bernice Mendoza, Kyle James Neuschaefer, Carley Ann Odens and Jesse Conrad Roberts by Renemans. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dentist applications of Dara Alvand, Jason Kefyalew Bereded, Sophie Rose Bisgard, Gage Lee Fenski, Brody Racota Grantham, Austin Scott McCullough and Madisen Jo Swift-Bereded by Renemans. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist credential verification applications of Judith Catherine Bonertz, Stacia Lynn Damron, Mallory Margaret Miller and Caroline Vilcins Morgan by Schaack. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the dental hygienist applications of Elizabeth Claire Anderson, JoAnna Christine Austad, Kylie Barbara Bochman, Reese Rose Coffman, Kenia Abigail Cruz, Vanessa Nicole Doyle, Rahcel Anne Epapy, Dan Joseph Grebner, Sydney Susan Hermanson, Saryn Linse Hruby, Eden Taylor Hullinger, Hannah Nikole Kirbach, Keanna Malia Korth, McKinly Ayrn Kyte, Megan Elizabeth Ruth Lusk, Melany Jisell Melgar Enriquez, Samantha Kay Olson, Samantha Lynn Price, Chloe Christine Schmitt, Erin Ann Schwanebeck, Payton Lynn Smedsrud, Victoria Colene Stutzke, Emily Elizabeth Sullivan, Avery Jane Vis, Ellie Elizabeth Williams and BriAnna Elizabeth Zohner by Perry. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed upon disposition, as presented, and direct the order be signed and entered for case 30.2324 by Renemans. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the agreed upon disposition, as presented, and direct the order be signed and entered for case 02.2425 by Schaack. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to accept the CRDTS Remediation Report as satisfaction of the Letter of Reprimand with Remediation in case 21.2425 by Perry. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

Motion to accept the CRDTS Remediation Report as satisfaction of the Letter of Reprimand with Remediation in case 37.2425 by Renemans. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Motion to direct that general counsel and staff provide a written response to the Board of Pharmacy regarding nitroglycerine tablets that includes appropriate statutory references and the scope of practice decision making framework document by Renemans. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Board Policies, as presented, by Doerr. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Continuing Education Guidelines, as presented, by Flynn. Second by Perry. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the Board Courses, as presented, by Perry. Second by Renemans. Motion carried.

Motion to approve the anesthesia inspection documents, as presented, by Perry. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Flynn nominated Dr. Scott Van Dam as President, Dr. Brian Prouty as Vice President and Amy Perry as Secretary/Treasurer. Motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dr. Scott Van Dam as President, Dr. Brian Prouty as Vice President and Zona Hornstra as Secretary/Treasurer by Schaack. Second by Doerr. Motion carried.

Motion to approve annual memberships in the American Association of Dental Boards (AADB) and the American Association of Dental Administrators (AADA) and to approve travel for two representatives to attend the meetings associated with each organization by Perry. Second by Schaack. Motion carried.

The Board announced meeting dates of October 10, 2025, February 6, 2026 and May 29, 2026.

Motion to adjourn by Renemans. Second by Flynn. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:39pm.

\_\_\_\_\_

Amy Perry, Secretary